Become a ltxtech.com member, Click here to register!
SSS

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default rear suspension info...

I'm looking for a link or a sticky with good info on eaech piece of the rear suspension and how it works. Bacisly I'm pretty new to this set up and I want to learn about it, how to adjust it, which pieces to upgrade first and such.

thanks
    78 Z28:406ci roller, w/ Tremac 5 spd
    96 WS-6: LT1, M6, BBK mid, magna catback, daily driver

10 Second N/A Club

Status
    Name
    Josh
    Vehicle
    96 Z28

Wow that's a pretty broad question! I'll start with basics and we can go from there.

Our cars have a torque arm (TA) suspension. This means they have traditional lower control arms (LCA's) which attach the rear end to the sub frame of the car via the lower bracket on the axle tubes. Instead of having upper control arms we have a TA which mounts above and below the pinion on the front of the differential and parallel’s the drive shaft (DS) attaching to a bracket on the tail shaft (output shaft) of the transmission. There is also a pan hard bar (PHB) which attaches to the rear end on the driver side and the sub frame on the passenger side.

The TA is what keeps the rear end from rolling upward when the car accelerates. The LCA's hold the rear straight under the car and do the pushing upon acceleration. The PHB keeps the rear end centered under the car.